Liberty Pawn & Gold

The Big Three Jewels: Why Ruby, Sapphire and Emerald Top the List of Precious Gems

September 10th, 2018

Until recently, only emerald, ruby and sapphire were officially called precious gems. Everything else was called semi-precious. The precious categorization is a reference to value: a really fine ruby, emerald or sapphire can be priced higher per carat than a diamond. Sapphires are extremely hard and durable, so they will last a forever in a piece of jewelry, and rubies and emeralds are extremely rare. There are some rare finds among the so-called semi-precious gems that can be priced higher than the big three, but in general, a fine ruby, sapphire or emerald will hold its value and command more respect and a higher price than other gemstone. That is the reason Art Deco jewelry – heavy on the big three – is usually prized over other period jewelry. Top watch brands, mindful of this, use emerald, ruby and sapphire in their most important jewelry watches, as the big three below demonstrate – from Cartier , Backes & Strauss and Van Cleef & Arpels.

Click here to shop Liberty Pawn & Gold sapphire jewelry.

Related News


15 Amazing Facts About Sapphires (the September Birthstone)

Sapphires are the September birthstone, so it’s the perfect time to learn more about these gorgeous gemstones. Here are 15 intriguing facts about stunning sapphires, September’s birthstone: 1 Sapphires have […]


Return to Blog